About Summer

Hello there! I’m Summer Schyff. I’m currently 24 years old from Ontario Canada.13256722_548229752032143_1505079535_n

I am a mental health advocate and chronic illness warrior, just sharing my story one post at a time from a christian perspective.

I have been diagnosed with OCD, and major depressive disorder with psychotic tendencies.

I spent a majority of three years in a psychiatric hospital trying to manage my mental health. I am now living at home continuing to work on recovery.

In 2014 I got a puppy and began to train her as a service dog!

She initially was to help with anxiety, dissociations, and psychosis, but when she was a year old she started alerting to my seizures about 10 minutes before they happened.

13102464_577268072448451_1837870508_nHer name is Zoë and she is incredible!

She is now just over 4 years old.

In my recovery goals I am working towards continuing college. I have learned so much already from my one and a half courses at Heritage Bible college!

God’s plan for my life tends to be different than my own plans. I did not plan to be living off of dissability and relying on my family at 24 years old. But quite honestly, this “change in plan” has been a blessing. I’m so grateful for the way it has fueled my desire to know, obey, and have a relationship with Christ.

This is my journey, my walk, and my life
from where I see it. Everyone has their own story and I love that God is bringing us all through something different. It’s been a beautiful journey so far (notice how I didn’t say easy…). All along God has been holding my hand and leading me. He placed so many people in my life who have helped and encouraged me along the way. I am so blessed!
My hope is in God, and there it will remain. I eagerly await what tomorrow brings and I can’t wait to see what the future holds!
“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: